British Correspondence Chess League (BCCL)

BCCL consists of two different Leagues: a Webserver League & a Postal League. Entry is available from the 1st October until the 15th November each year.

The Webserver League is the main League consisting of a three Divisions: Championship, Division 1, Division 2. The league is made up of the teams of 8, the cost per season is £12.00 per team. Each player plays one opponent (2 games) per season so it is not a large commitment and can serve as an excellent introduction to correspondence chess. Entries close on the 1st November each year. The BCCA currently has 5 teams (40 players) in this League.

The Postal League consists of just one division and teams are made up of 6 players. All play is by post with the option to switch to e-mail only if both players agree. The BCCA currently has one team in this League.

If you are interested you can play in several ways. If you are a BCCA UK member you can:-

• Indicate “Yes” on your Membership Renewal form to the BCCL. We will try our best to find you a place on an existing team or, if enough people are interested, we will form new teams!

• Get together with 7 friends or chess club colleagues & enter a new team!

If you are not a BCCA member you can:-

• Get together with 7 friends or chess club colleagues & enter a new team! This competition is open to anyone based in the UK. Payment can be made on the Payment Page via ‘PayPal’ £12.00 for Webserver Teams and £8.00 for Postal.

• Join the BCCA!

For more information please contact Stan Grayland

The BCCL has a strong tradition – please have a look at the following article on the History of the BCCL by Neil Limbert. There are some excellent games at the end!

PDF download BCCL opens in new window.