British Championship 2010-11

The premier event of the British Correspondence Chess season starts on the 5th October 2010 with an adjudication date of August 12th 2011. Players are able to make an early start on their games as tournament pairings are now published on the ICCF web-server where the games are to be played.  Austin Lockwood and Julian Corfield, the current British Champions, are defending their titles in a 15 player Championship section, 11 players contest the Candidates section whilst a further 10 players compete in the Reserves section.

Links to the tournament tables

The four titled players taking part are all competing in the Championship section,

  • Senior International Master Ian M. Pheby
  • Senior International MasterJohn Anderson
  • International Master Julian Corfield
  • International Master Bill Lumley

Recent History

The 2009-10 British Championship was shared by Austin Lockwood and IM Julian Corfield with 10/14, the performance of Lockwood was exceptional with no losses sustained whilst Corfield recorded one loss with a French Defence played against Jo Wharrier.

The 2008-09 British Championship was played ‘In Memoriam’ of BCCA stalwart John Allain who was an official of the BCCA (British Correspondence Chess Association) for almost 40 years. He simultaneously occupied the key positions of President and General Secretary of the Association and is recognised as one of the most important figures in the 104 year history of the BCCA. His contribution to Correspondence Chess was enormous.  This tournament was won outright by Robert J. Wakefield followed closely by Dr. Gordon R. Evans and Harvey D. Williamson.

The 2007-08 British Championship was shared by three players, Oliver Lightowlers,  Freddy Bush and Sidney Shaw, the first 7 players were within 1/2 a point of each other.  The 2006-07 British Championship was the first to be played on the ICCF  web-server and was a shared affair with Bill Lumley and Harvey D. Williamson sharing the Championship narrowly from Keith Kitson and Oliver Lightowlers who were just 1/2pt behind.